Wage  Board to meet in Kochi

  The National Wage Boards for Working Journalists and non-journalists of newspapers and news agencies will hold their first meetings at Kochi in Kerala on the 2nd August 2007. The Meetings of the two Boards will be held at Kerala Guest House, Ernakulum, Kochi from 10.30 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. During the meetings the Boards will meet representatives of newspaper establishments, working journalists, non-journalist newspaper employees and other stakeholders interested in the fixation/ revision of rates of wages of working journalists,  non-journalist newspaper employees. They can make representation in writing and can be handed over to the Chairman of the two Boards Dr. Justice K. Narayana Kurup. The written representation should state the rates of wages which, in the opinion of the person making the representation, would be reasonable, having regard to the capacity of the employer to pay the same, or to any other circumstance, whichever may seem relevant to the person making the representation. The Chairman of the two Boards Justice Kurup can also be contacted at telephone numbers 0484-2369163 or 09447091131.

  The two Wage Boards headed by Justice Kurup have been set up by the union Labour &  Employment Ministry on 24th May 2007 for fixing or revising rates of wages of working  journalists and newspaper employees and non-journalists newspapers employees in accordance  with the provisions of the Working Journalists and Other Newspaper Employees (Conditions of
  service) and Miscellaneous Provisions Act, 1955.

  Both the Wage Boards have 10 members each. The Chairman Dr. Justice K. Narayana Kurup is  a formal Judge of Kerala High Court and has also served as Acting Chief Justice of Madras High Court. Shri K.M. Sahni, former Labour and Employment Secretary, is the Member Secretary for  both the Boards. The other independent members common to both the Boards are Shri B.P.  Singh and Shri P.N. Prasanna Kumar. Shri Naresh Mohan (Indian Newspaper Society), Shri  Gurinder Singh (All India Small and Medium Newspapers Federation), Shri Prataprai Tarachand  Shah ( Indian Language Newspaper Association) are representing employers on both the Wage  Boards. Shri K. Vikram Rao (Indian Federation of Working Journalists), Shri Nand Kishore Trikha  (National Union of Journalists (India) and Shri Suresh Akhouri (Indian Journalists Union) are  representing the Working Journalists on the Wage Board for Working Journalists. Shri Madan  Phadnis (All India Newspaper Employees Federation), Shri Uma Shankar Mishra (National  Federation of Newspaper Employees) and Shri M.S. Yadav (Press Trust of India) represent  non-journalists on the Wage Board for Non-Journalists.

Update: The meeting was held as scheduled. However, the Board did not start full-fledged functioning immediately. The chairman announced in March 2008 that he would submit recommendations on interim relief to the Government within a month.